Research Groups


BMLS Josef Buchmann Awards Ceremony

The Buchmann Institute for Molecular Life Sciences (BMLS) at the Goethe University, Riedberg Campus, celebrated its first Josef Buchmann Awards Ceremony on 6 September 2017.

September 2017. The awards ceremony was dominated by the young researchers of the Buchmann Institute for Molecular Life Sciences (BMLS) and their great achievements. In the BMLS, 160 doctoral students and postdocs work to decipher the functioning of cells at the molecular level and thus lay the foundations for new drugs and treatment methods.
On the occasion of this event for the very first time, the Buchmann family awarded three scholarships for doctoral studies at BMLS. Dr. h.c. Bareket Buchmann handed the starter PhD scholarships to the proud winners: Patrizia Kunz (research group Pohl), Remus Rosenkranz (research group Schleiff) and Sven Richter (research group Kudryashev). Each scholarship holder receives 1300 Euros per month for one year.
Prof. Dr. Birgitta Wolff, the President of the Goethe University, and Prof. Dr. Enrico Schleiff, BMLS Director and Vice President of the Goethe University, thanked Dr. h.c. Josef Buchmann and his wife Dr. h.c. Bareket Buchmann who have been actively supporting many people and projects at the Goethe University Frankfurt since 1980.
Prof. Schleiff then awarded all PhD students who completed their PhD studies in 2016. Thirteen postdocs received their well-earned BMLS Certificates of Graduation.
The prize for the best doctorate in 2016 at the BMLS, was awarded to Dr. Jatin Nagpal (research group of Prof. Alexander Gottschalk), who developed new optogenetic tools in his work. In a fascinating lecture, Dr. Nagpal presented the functioning of nerve cells, how detailed aspects can be investigated by means of the latest optical methods and the helpful role played by the small transparent worm C. elegans. Although optogenetics is a research area that is only 10 years old, it already has revolutionized neurobiological research. The prize was also donated by the Buchmann family and awarded by Dr. h.c. Josef Buchmann himself.
The last award given that day, was the Director's Pick. This prize rewards outstanding contributions to the community life of young scientists at BMLS. The prize winners are the doctoral students Isabell Smyrek (Stelzer group), Mila Basic (Bremm group) and the postdoc Dr. Harald Hofbauer (Ernst group). People who look beyond the boundaries of their own research and who are proactive in the community life at the institute are extremely important for an interdisciplinary international institute such as the BMLS, where researchers from twenty-five countries and four disciplines work together on the processes that manifest the functional and structural dynamics of cells and the regulation and organization of cellular networks.
The ceremony ended with a reception, accompanied by the music of AtomicSax.
All members of the Buchmann Institute for Molecular Life Sciences are extremely grateful to the Buchmann family for their continuous support of science and particularly young researchers!